The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best book in democratic and/or liberal theory published two years earlier.  The 2019 Prize will be given to a book published in 2017 (copyright date).  Books that are jointly authored are eligible, but textbooks and edited collections are not.  (Click here to see the list of past winners.) Publishers and individuals are invited to nominate books by sending copies marked “Regarding Spitz Prize” directly to all three of the Prize Committee members listed below.  The (postmark) deadline for the submission of candidate books is December 01, 2019.


Spitz Prize Committee


Kinch Hoekstra (Chair)

University of California, Berkeley

Department of Political Science

210 Barrows Hall

Berkeley, CA 94720-1950


Elizabeth Wingrove

University of Michigan

Department of Political Science

505 S. State Street

5700 Haven Hall

Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1045


Shalini Satkunanandan

University of California, Davis

Department of Political Science

469 Kerr Hall

One Shields Avenue

Davis, CA 95616

2019 Spitz Prize Call for Nominations

Diego Rivera—The Arsenal