top of page

2022 Spitz Prize Call for Nominations

Did you read an outstanding book of political theory published in 2020? Did you write one? Nominate it for the Spitz Prize!

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best book in democratic and/or liberal theory published two years earlier. The 2022 Prize will be given to a book published in 2020 (copyright date). Books that are jointly authored are eligible, but textbooks and edited collections are not. 

Publishers and individuals are invited to nominate books by sending copies marked “Regarding Spitz Prize” directly to all three of the Prize Committee members listed below (please send physical copies only). The (postmark) deadline for the submission of candidate books is January 31, 2023. 

2022 Spitz Prize Committee

Lori Jo Marso (chair)

Union College

Dept of Political science

807 Union street

Schenectady NY 12308


Murad Idris
University of Michigan
Political Science Department
6743 Haven Hall
505 South State Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Andrew Valls
Oregon State University
School of Public Policy
300 Bexell Hall
Corvallis, OR. 97331

See past Spitz Prize winners here

bottom of page