The International Conference for the Study of Political Thought

2022 Conference Call for Papers: Anatomies of Power: Praxis, Violence, Rule

CSPT’s 2022 Conference “Anatomies of Power: Praxis, Violence, Rule,” will take place on May 13 and 14, at Columbia University. The paper proposal submission deadline is on November 15, 2021. Read the call for papers here.


2020 Spitz Prize Awarded to Jill Frank and Onur Ulas Ince.

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best books in liberal and/or democratic theory published two years earlier. The 2020 co-winners are Jill Frank's Poetic Justice: Rereading Plato's "Republic" and Onur Ulas Ince's Colonial Capitalism and the Dilemmas of Liberalism. Read the committee's commendations here.

Spitz Prize 2021 Call for Nominations

Did you read an outstanding book of political theory published in 2019? Did you write one? Nominate it for the Spitz Prize!

Read the call for nominations here.

The International Conference for the Study of Political Thought is an international, interdisciplinary organization of scholars and informed citizens interested in preserving and encouraging a broad, humanistic style of thinking about politics. Founded in Toronto in 1967 by J.G.A. Pocock, Melvin Richter, and Neal Wood, CSPT is now composed of an extensive network of affiliated groups and scholarly organizations. The organization aims to hold one major conference each year on a topic of broad theoretical and political significance, drawing together scholars from intellectual history, political and social theory, philosophy and related fields. In addition to our annual conference, we plan to organize smaller gatherings – workshops, lectures, panels – on contemporary themes from a theoretically and historically sensitive perspective.

We are glad to announce that the CSPT Conference, Anatomies of Power: Praxis, Violence, Rule, will take place on May 13-14, 2022 at Columbia University. 

STD CSPT 2022.png