top of page

2019 Conference Schedule & Registration 

updated poster

CSPT 2019 Annual Conference 

Bowers Auditorium, Sage Hall

205 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT 

Paper abstracts are linked in paper titles. Full papers are available to conference registrants here; please see registration details below.

Friday May 10, 2019

10:00 –12:00   Roundtable


Chair: Karuna Mantena (Yale)

Russ Muirhead (Dartmouth College)

Asli Ü. Bâli (UCLA)

Ken Roberts (Cornell)

A. James McAdams (Notre Dame)

12:00-1:15  Lunch


1:15-3:15  Populism


Chair: Carlo Accetti (CCNY)

Maria Paula Saffon (UNAM) and Nadia Urbinati (Columbia), “Populism and Party Democracy: Partisanship Without a Party System

William Selinger (UCL), “Making Sense of Populism: Jean-Marie Le Pen and the French Antitotalitarian Moment

Discussants: Jason Frank (Cornell), Giulia Oskian (Yale)


3:15-3:45 Coffee Break


3:45   Spitz Prize Presentation: Tommie Shelby, Dark Ghettos: Injustice, Dissent, and Reform


4:00 – 6:00  ​Parties and Movements


Chair: Jill Frank (Cornell)

Thea N. Riofrancos (Providence), “Resource Radicalisms: The Conditions and Consequences of Popular Critique

Jean L. Cohen (Columbia), “Rethinking the Party/Movement Relationship in the Context of Populist Challenges to Constitutional Democracy

Discussants: Lisa Disch (Michigan), Lori Marso (Union)


Saturday May 11, 2019


10:00-12:00    Party and State

Chair: Alexander Livingston (Cornell)

Max Skjönsberg (St. Andrews), “The Eighteenth-Century Debate about Party from Montesquieu to Madison

Alexander Kirshner (Duke), “It's the State, Not Parties: Why Legitimate Opposition is a Preeminent Constitutional Principle

Discussants: Melissa Schwartzberg (NYU), Turkuler Isiksel (Columbia)


12:00-1:15 Lunch


1:15-3:15   Comradeship

Chair: Demetra Kasimis (Chicago)

Jordan Jochim (Cornell), “The Virtues of Faction: Aristotle on the Politics of Comradeship

Jodi Dean (Hobart & William Smith), “Four Theses on the Comrade

Discussants: Bryan Garsten, (Yale) Alex Gourevitch (Brown)


3:15-3:45  Coffee


3:45-5:45     Factions

Chair: Anurag Sinha (Harvard)

Harvey Mansfield (Harvard), “Party and Faction”

Michelle Clarke (Dartmouth), "The Questionable Virtues of the Medici"

Discussants: Alison McQueen (Stanford), Richard Bourke (Cambridge)


Registration is free and open to all, but is required to access conference papers. Conference attendees are encouraged to become members of CSPT: please find membership details here. If you plan to attend this year's conference, please register using the link below.






















bottom of page