The International Conference for the Study of Political Thought

2021 Conference: Democratic Representation: Acts, Aesthetics, Institutions

The 2020 annual meeting, "Democratic Representation: Acts, Aesthetics, Institutions," has been postponed due to the evolving situation with COVID-19. We hope to reschedule for May 2021 and will update this site as details are available.


2019 Spitz Prize Awarded to Cécile Laborde

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best book in liberal and/or democratic theory published two years earlier. The 2019 Prize is awarded to Cécile Laborde for her book Liberalism's ReligionRead the committee's commendation here.

Spitz Prize 2020 Call for Nominations

Did you read an outstanding book of political theory published in 2018? Did you write one? Nominate it for the Spitz Prize!

Read the call for nominations here.

The International Conference for the Study of Political Thought is an international, interdisciplinary organization of scholars and informed citizens interested in preserving and encouraging a broad, humanistic style of thinking about politics. Founded in Toronto in 1967 by J.G.A. Pocock, Melvin Richter, and Neal Wood, CSPT is now composed of an extensive network of affiliated groups and scholarly organizations. The organization aims to hold one major conference each year on a topic of broad theoretical and political significance, drawing together scholars from intellectual history, political and social theory, philosophy and related fields. In addition to our annual conference, we plan to organize smaller gatherings – workshops, lectures, panels – on contemporary themes from a theoretically and historically sensitive perspective.

The 2020 annual meeting, Democratic Representation: Acts, Aesthetics, Institutions, has been postponed in light of the evolving situation with COVID-19. We hope to reschedule for May 2021 and will update this site with further information as details become available.

Diego Rivera—The Arsenal